Turbo

So I was bargain hunting again, as the majority of us have probably been doing during these tough economic times. I looked through a flyer for one of Canada’s most recognized drug stores, Shoppers Drug Mart, and noticed they have an energy drink exclusively to their stores. This one is called “Turbo.” Very cool name, due to the fact it’s an energy drink. One can is only $2 (That can be either US or CDN, by the way, now that our dollar is on par). So I figured I have nothing to lose except a couple bucks on something I haven’t tried before. It seems to me more and more drug stores have energy drinks exclusively to them. Another example is CVS Pharmacy in the US, where Blade Energy Drink is sold only there. For my review on Blade, please click here.

So back to Turbo. Not only is the name cool, but so is the can, as you can see from the picture! Red and silver with an eagle on it. Quite awesome, I must say. The can itself indicates it is citrus flavor. But when I cracked the can open and took a sniff, it was very similar to Red Rain. Not saying that’s a bad thing, I’m just saying. And when I poured it into a glass, it looked very similar to Red Rain as well. Took a sip and while I found the taste nice, it didn’t extremely wow me. But for a “No Name” brand, it’s somewhat what I expected. I know I have had worse out there, and the “worse” came from better-known brands.

Medicinal Ingredients per 473 mL: Taurine 1890 mg, D-Glucuronolactone 1130 mg, Caffeine 150 mg, Niacin (Niacinamide) 37 mg, Pantothenic Acid (D-Calcium Pantothenate) 9 mg, Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine HCL) 9 mg, Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin) 9 mcg.

Non-Medicinal Ingredients per 473 mL: Carbonated Water, Sugar/Glucose-Fructose, Malic Acid, Sodium Citrate, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Potassium Benzoate, Inositol, Color.

Leave a Reply

